top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSharon Young

Make improvements, not excuses. Seek respect, not attention

Updated: May 9, 2022



Everything can shift in a split second.

Click.

Just like that, and the world around you changes forever.

What you are experiencing right now is only temporary. It's a moment in time. It's fleeting. Change is inevitable.

You can spend your whole life trying to please everyone around you; those people you trusted yesterday can break you tomorrow.

There is always going to be someone who puts words into your mouth, who manipulates you and breaks your morals.

They will make matters about themselves; they will read between the lines. Twist your words to fit an agenda. They force others to feel small, lie and cheat, but if the shoe fits...

We are not set on this earth to please anybody; we are only here to make ourselves happy.

Trust is scarce, but it is worth fighting for.

It is our job to remain strong, to fight for what we believe in.

While we cannot rely on others to shield us, we must find hope, faith and, above all, trust.

We cannot expect people to hold our hands through the shit the world throws at us. But we can accept guidance and support from those who look to stand up for us.

I've been keeping busy over the last couple of months, focusing on myself. Seeing my family and going out with friends, which makes me all the happier for it.

I've stopped worrying about things I have no control over.

Situations are regularly going to alter and sometimes we have to let them break before they get better.

The good forever comes with the bad, and no matter what we do, we can adjust to it.

I'm not completely in a good place. I still have a lot to learn, but these days I have the encouragement I've always needed.

My work and lifestyle balance are finally where they should be.

I am back to being creative again. I'm not outstandingly good at anything, but I enjoy doing things that keep my mind and hands busy.

I am also back to doing my daily planners and journaling. I am thrilled that I have started reading again too. Well, lost in it more like.

I've got events planned. Holidays booked. I'm me again, and I'm loving how it feels.

I am confident for all the best reasons. I have new ideas and dreams ahead.

I'm back to budgeting and saving for my future.

I am just overall back on track with my life.

This year I've gone to Scotland twice, and I still love it every single time I go. For the first time, I climbed Arthur Seat all by myself. What an achievement! I drove to the beach and read by the sea. It was bliss.

I went to a concert and saw The Vaccines with the beautiful Steph.

I have been to the Beer Festival, and I've gone out-out.

I am even joining the gym this month, and I'm looking forward to getting back on my health kick.

I have stayed away from drama. I have forgiven and forgotten...to an extent...as in staying away from unneeded toxic environments.

I'm the motherfucking Queen I've consistently been. All I did was forget how fucking exceptional I was... sorry... that I am.

Sometimes life needs to give you challenges, so you can find yourself, find your genuine allies, and work out what's best for you. So, take every bad opportunity you've had thrown at you, and seek the reasons behind it because trust me, there will always be one. It might not make sense at the time, but the truth will invariably come out.

So, remember you have fucking got this!

 


bottom of page